Curried Chicken Salad

I’ve always shied away saladized dishes – chicken salad, potato salad, coleslaw, egg salad…pretty much anything that is slathered in mayonnaise. I just don’t like the thought of yummy fresh ingredients swimming in mayo. But then I realized I could cut the mayo in salad dishes with sour cream or Greek yogurt…and now I’ve opened my horizons to all things saladized (except egg salad….that’s still on my no-thank-you list).

Curry Chicken Salad

I made chicken stock on Sunday, and decided to use the leftover meat to try out Ina Garten’s Curried Chicken Salad recipe. Curried Chicken Salad is such a retro dish, but it definitely deserves a comeback (if skinny jeans and neon can make it in the 21st century, then this dish certainly has a place in modern culture!) If you don’t happen to be making chicken stock today (come on, why not?) feel free to use bone-in split chicken breasts, as in Garten’s original recipe. You could even use a store-bought rotisserie chicken if you don’t have the time (or inclination) to cook a chicken today.

Curry Sauce

Before starting on this 5-star dish, I looked through the comments and reviews it received. That’s the great thing about finding recipes on the internet – you can get tips and suggestions from people who have actually tried it out. Whether it’s adding/substituting ingredients, modifying measurements, or handy information about the dish (like the fact that you will have WAY too much sauce!), reading the comments before making a new dish is always worth your time.

chicken salad fixins

Considering the number of people who gave Garten’s recipe rave reviews, I didn’t want to make many modifications. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it – right? But I know my taste buds, and there are a few things I changed to suit my own tastes. The first thing I addressed was the mayonnaise situation – one and a half cups!? Gross….I cut the yick factor by replacing 1/2 a cup with low-fat plain Greek yogurt. Some reviewers of the recipe actually replaced all of the mayo with yogurt – which I may try next time. I chose to add a little red onion and Italian flat leaf parsley. I had them both on hand, and I like the extra crunch and color. But I stuck with the raisins (some suggested craisins or grapes) and cashews – and I think you could go heavy on both.

Curry Chicken Wrap

When it came to eating this fabulous curry concoction, I went with a wrap. A soft flour tortilla, fresh mixed greens, a generous squeeze or Sriracha, and a few extra cashews, and your taste buds will scream Thank you!! This would also make a great sandwich, a dip with pita chips, or just eat it with a spoon….

Curried Chicken Salad

  • 3 C. cooked chicken
  • 1 C. cashews
  • 1/2 C. celery, diced
  • 1/4 C. raisins
  • 1/4 C. red onion, diced
  • 1/4 C. green onions, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 C. parsley, chopped
  • 1 C. mayonnaise
  • 1/2 C. plain Greek yogurt
  • 1/4 C. mango chutney
  • 1/3 C. white wine
  • 3 T. curry powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. pepper

In a large bowl combine chicken, cashews, celery, raisins, red onion, green onion and parsley. For the sauce, whisk together mayo, yogurt, mango chutney curry powder, salt and pepper. Pour just enough sauce over chicken mixture to moisten. You will have extra sauce. Cover and refrigerate for at least 2 hours before serving.

One thought on “Curried Chicken Salad

Leave a Reply

