When Life Hands You Limes, Make Margaritas!

Is it the weekend yet? Oh yes, it IS! It also happens to be 70F and sunny. I’m not sure about you, but I think a fresh cocktail is in order :)

Limes and Tequila

I still have  a few Meyer lemons (which happen to yield a TON of juice) and my grocery store had a good price on limes – so margaritas it is! If you are sitting there thinking “I hate margaritas”, give this recipe a chance. I have heard “I hate margaritas” and then spent all night squeezing limes and shaking cocktails for such naysayers. It seems the typical margarita experience involves bad tequila and high-fructose-corn-syrup (and green food coloring) laden mixes. That is NOT a margarita – that is just gross! A great margarita has simple, fresh ingredients – and good tequila!

When I say “good” tequila, do not confuse this with “expensive” tequila. You want something that tastes good. My favorite brand is Camarena – 100% blue agave, smooth taste, and it’ll run you about $25 for a liter. Not too bad, considering the prices of some top shelf brands! While you are at the liquor store, pick up some orange liqueur too – it goes great in a margarita.

Pick your citrus fruit – my norm is lime and orange. But since I have these Meyer lemons, today I’m using them instead of the orange. Grapefruit would be delicious too. I’ve also seen alot of watermelon margarita recipes on Pinterest….have at it – but this is not my cup of tea-quila.

The final addition is a sweetener. Just a touch, to really smooth out all the flavors. My choice is Agave nectar because it’s made from the same plant as tequila. The flavors compliment each other so well. I have had no trouble finding this in my local grocery store – they even carry multiple brands now! But in case you can’t find it, or you prefer not to go out and buy something you think you will only use once (trust me, once you have it you will use it. This stuff is good!) you can just use honey, or a little sugar.

Ok, now that we’ve covered the basics, it’s time to get out your cocktail shaker, glasses, and ice. Add your fresh juice, liquor, agave and a pinch of salt to an ice filled shaker. Shake until it’s so cold, you can barely stand it (about 2 minutes). Pour into glasses over fresh ice. Relax, and enjoy a great drink.

margarita

For 2 Drinks

  • 1/2 C. Tequila
  • 1/4 C. orange liqueur
  • 1/2 C. lime juice
  • 1/4 C. orange juice
  • 2 tsp. agave
  • pinch of salt

This is a 50/50 ratio of liquor to juice. Use the ingredients of your choice, and modify the ratio to your liking (although the 50/50 is pretty darn good!)

9 thoughts on “When Life Hands You Limes, Make Margaritas!

  1. Pingback: The Lighter Side of Football Fare | The Highfalutin Duck

  2. Pingback: Cilantro & Garlic Tacos with Mango Salsa | The Highfalutin Duck

  3. Pingback: Pork Taquitos | The Highfalutin Duck

  4. Pingback: Cinco de Mayo Feast | The Highfalutin Duck

  5. That looks so good and fresh! Sometimes, the mix makes me feel more sick than the tequila so I bet this won’t feel so sweet. The citrus has healthy benefits too! ;)

Leave a Reply

