Homemade Bailey’s

Perusing through Facebook one morning, I came across a friend’s picture of the Bailey’s cocktail he had enjoyed the night before. Yum! I thought, I love Bailey’s! In fact, my husband had recently spent $45+ on a bottle of that fattening deliciousness. Then I noticed the caption on the photo – HOMEMADE Bailey’s. Say whaaaaat!? I never imagined that this was something you could make at home, and for a fraction of the cost. I immediately got the recipe from his wife and gave it a whirl (literally – you will need a blender). No more store bought Bailey’s for us!

I modified the recipe slightly. The original called for heavy whipping cream, more almond extract, and less whiskey. The heavy cream is good – it produces a frothier drink. It is VERY good – but a little too filling for my cocktail tastes. I found the almond extract to be a little over powering – so it was reduced by half. And as for adding more liquor, well….

This goes great in coffee, or over a little ice. Or as my friend and his wife were having it – over coffee ice cubes! Enjoy.

bailey's_ingredients

  • 1 Cup half & half
  • 14 ounces (one can) sweetened condensed milk
  • 2 Tablespoons chocolate syrup
  • 3/4 teaspoon instant coffee grounds
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon almond extract
  • 1 1/2 Cups Irish whiskey (I used Powers)

Chill whiskey and condensed milk. Add all ingredients in a blender. Turn on high for 1-2 minutes, or until well combined. Store in an air tight container (I use a mason jar). Keep refrigerated for up to a month. Makes 4 cups.

bailey'sA 750ml bottle of Irish whiskey makes 2 batches (8 cups total). It looks like I’m going to have to get another bottle…

 

3 thoughts on “Homemade Bailey’s

  1. Hey, Duck: Have you figured out the cost of the homemade version?
    I realize that a lot depends on which whiskey you use, but I’m still curious.
    If you’ve not already done it, don’t worry with it. I’ll price things out and let you know.

    • Hey Mike! It also depends on what you already have in your pantry….I haven’t figured the cost per serving – but I’ll tell you what I spent :

      Whiskey – $24ish for 750ml bottle. Bottle made two batches.
      Half & half – $1.50/quart. Already had this, and I have plenty to spare.
      sweetened condensed milk – >$2.50
      instant coffee – $2/12 pack. And you use less than a pack per batch.
      Chocolate syrup, vanilla and almond extracts – all of these I already had on hand. But each were only a few $$ per bottle.

      The most expensive item is the whiskey – so your cost per serving will definitely increase/decrease depending on how highfalutin your wife’s taste in liquor is ;)

Leave a Reply

